Frequently Asked Questions
United Behavioral Health (UBH) Private
(Optum, Sunflower, and Aetna)
(Availity Essentials/Kansas Medicaid only)
Ambetter (Kansas only)
Private pay rate:
$200 per intake and $160 per 50 minutes
*My Sliding scale fee spots are currently full.
* See below for more information on a Good Faith Estimate or email Kira@Harkinscounseling.com to request a good faith estimate
What are the benefits to being a private pay client?
When I accept your insurance, the insurance company requires me to provide a diagnosis. One of the benefits to private pay is your medical record maintains privacy and a diagnosis is not necessary. Insurance companies can also dictate the frequency and duration of treatment. Private pay allows for more flexibility in meeting your treatment needs.
* I provide a monthly Superbill you can submit if you have out of network benefits.
Are you currently accepting new clients?
My practice is currently full. Feel free to email me at Kira@Harkinscounseling.com, if you would like to book a consultation sooner and get on the waitlist.
What hours do you work? Generally, Monday- Thursday 9-5.
What can I expect from the consultation and first session?
You can book a consultation through my website, calling and leaving me a message at (913) 890-3121 or emailing at Kira@Harkinscounseling.com. I return calls and emails within 24 hours. During our consultation, I will ask you what you are looking for in therapy. I may ask about your previous experiences with therapy and what you hope to get out of our work together. If it feels like a fit, we will discuss a collaborative treatment approach.
If we want to schedule a session, I will send you the confirmed appointment in an invite to the Simple Practice portal with some intake paperwork to get us started. Our first session will be getting to know one another, reviewing some of the intake paperwork and assessment of your needs.
Do you offer Clinical Supervision? I do provide individual clinical supervision for LMSWs in the state of Kansas. I charge $125 per hour of Clinical Supervision. Email me at Kira@Harkinscounseling.com for my resume or to set up a meeting.
EMDR Consultation for Certification
I am an EMDRIA Consultant in Training (CIT) and offer consultation to therapists that are EMDRIA EMDR Trained and seeking EMDR Certification. I charge $45 per hour for consultation and can provide up to 15 hours of the required 20 hours of consultation. A minimum of 5 hours must be completed by a EMDRIA Consultant. Email me at Kira@Harkinscounseling.com or book a consultation. I have a passion for providing consultation for Perinatal cases, but all EMDR cases are welcome.
I also can provide 10 EMDR consultation hours for therapists who have been trained by the Institute For Creative Mindfulness.
Good Faith Estimate
Under the No Surprises Act (H.R. 133 - which will go into effect on January 1, 2022), health care providers need to give clients or patients who do not have insurance or who are not using insurance an estimate of the bill for medical items and services.
This Good Faith Estimate shows the costs of items and services that are reasonably expected for your health care needs for an item or service. The estimate is based on information known at the time the estimate was created.
You have the right to receive a Good Faith Estimate for the total expected cost of any non-emergency items or services. This includes (under the law/when applicable) related costs like medical tests, prescription drugs, equipment, and hospital fees.
The Good Faith Estimate does not include any unknown or unexpected costs that may arise during treatment. You could be charged more if complications or special circumstances occur. If this happens, federal law allows you to dispute (appeal) the bill.
If you receive a bill that is at least $400 more than your Good Faith Estimate, you can dispute the bill.
You may contact the health care provider or facility listed to let them know the billed charges are higher than the Good Faith Estimate. You can ask them to update the bill to match the Good Faith Estimate, ask to negotiate the bill, or ask if there is financial assistance available.
You may also start a dispute resolution process with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). If you choose to use the dispute resolution process, you must start the dispute process within 120 calendar days (about 4 months) of the date on the original bill.
There is a $25 fee to use the dispute process. If the agency reviewing your dispute agrees with you, you will have to pay the price on this Good Faith Estimate. If the agency disagrees with you and agrees with the health care provider or facility, you will have to pay the higher amount.
Make sure your health care provider gives you a Good Faith Estimate within the following timeframes:
If the service is scheduled at least three business days before the appointment date, no later than one business day after the date of scheduling;
If the service is scheduled at least 10 business days before the appointment date, no later than three business days after the date of scheduling; or
If the uninsured or self-pay patient requests a good faith estimate (without scheduling the service), no later than three business days after the date of the request. A new good faith estimate must be provided, within the specified timeframes if the patient reschedules the requested item or service.
This is the public disclosure of the “Good Faith Estimate”
Note: A Good Faith Estimate is for your awareness only. It does NOT involve you needing to make any type of commitment.
To learn more and get a form to start the process, go to www.cms.gov/nosurprises or call 800-985-3059. For questions or more information about your right to a Good Faith Estimate or the dispute process, visit www.cms.gov/nosurprises or call 800-985-3059. Keep a copy of this Good Faith Estimate in a safe place or take pictures of it. You may need it if you are billed a higher amount.
If you have questions or concerns, please contact the number above.